Seared Scallop Salad with Prosciutto Crisps

Photo and Recipe Courtesy of Cooking Light magazine, June 2013 issue

I will be the first to admit that I do NOT love me some salad.  Don’t crave it. Hardly ever eat it.  Salad doesn’t hug you and make you feel all warm and happy inside like comfort food does.  So when I find one that I like I get pretty excited about it. 🙂 The health benefits of a properly made salad are probably just what my diet has been missing; therefore, I’m working on mastering the art of making desirable leafy green goodness.  Ideally, so that I’ll be happy to eat it for dinner at least once a week.

I found this gem and happily scarfed it down. It was delicious.  So, so, so very tasty.  Scallops, prosciutto, English cucumber, cherry tomatoes, and a yum-tastic dijon dressing. (Yeah… I said yum-tastic.)

Ingredients

  • 5 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon minced shallots
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 4 cups mixed salad greens
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup sliced English cucumber
  • 1 ounce prosciutto, thinly sliced
  • 16 sea scallops (about 1 pound)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Preparation

  1. Combine 1 tablespoon oil, cider vinegar, minced shallots, and Dijon mustard in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add salad greens, halved cherry tomatoes, and cucumber to bowl; toss gently to coat.
  2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add sliced prosciutto to pan; cook 3 minutes or until prosciutto is crisp; coarsely chop. Pat scallops dry with paper towels; sprinkle with freshly ground black pepper and kosher salt. Add remaining 2 teaspoons olive oil to pan; swirl to coat pan. Add scallops to pan; cook 3 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness. Place 4 scallops and 2/3 cup salad mixture on each of 4 plates; sprinkle with prosciutto.

Nutritional Information

Amount per serving

  • Calories: 171
  • Fat: 7.1g
  • Saturated fat: 1.2g
  • Monounsaturated fat: 4.5g
  • Polyunsaturated fat: 0.9g
  • Protein: 16.7g
  • Carbohydrate: 10.3g
  • Fiber: 2.3g
  • Cholesterol: 31mg
  • Iron: 1.3mg
  • Sodium: 493mg
  • Calcium: 18mg

6 thoughts on “Seared Scallop Salad with Prosciutto Crisps

  1. Salad almost is comfort food to me. I think it is all about the dressing. Homemade dressings taste so much better! We have been trying to eat more salads lately, too, to be more healthy. I try to make a different jar of salad dressing every week, and have it in the frig ready to go. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It really looks delicious!

    • Hahaha. I knew you were out there, salad lover! 😉 I love your idea of making different homemade dressings and just keeping them in the fridge. A good dressing makes all the difference in the world!

  2. this looks fantastic! You had me at scallops and even more at proscuitto! Here’s a salad I really like. Its super simple–obnoxiously simple, actually–but quicky and filling: bed of spinach, 1/2 mango sliced, a drizzle of EVOO and balsamic. Normally when I do salads it takes me ages to prep because I add so many ingredients, but this one was shockingly filling. True, not comforting like a big bowl of Mac & Cheese, but not too shabby 😉

Leave a comment