The “Brave New Me” Project – Day 1

So after months and months and months of this situation:

I finally broke down and joined a gym.  Dieting alone is not going to get my pants to fit any time soon. On top of that I am not ok with being out of shape.  As I get older and continue to fall apart it becomes more and more apparent that I should be making my health a top priority.  How could I possibly be “falling apart” at the tender age of 27, you ask? Well, let’s see: In the last 5 years or so I have been diagnosed with asthma, allergies, gastritis, a pituitary microadenoma, nearsightedness, astigmatism, and high cholesterol.  Considering I had none of the above prior to reaching my mid-twenties, how’s that for slowly falling apart?

The way that we treat our bodies during our younger years will have a significant impact on how well or how poorly we age later in life.  Therefore, as I approach the tail end of my twenties it’s important that I stop abusing my body via junk food and inactivity.  These are the glorious years of my youth – I should still be in my prime!  Therefore, I’ve committed myself to cleaner eating and exercise in order to erase the product of my laziness and negligence these past few years.

So I did a little research on local gyms and signed up at X-Sport Fitness.  To beat me up, push me forward, and maximize my reformation, I’ve gone so far as to enlist the services of  a personal trainer.  Not only will he teach me new exercises and how to operate some of the more intimidating weight machines – but he will also push me harder than I’d ever push myself and he will bring a large sense of accountability to my gym commitment.  Now not only am I financially invested in a gym and a trainer – but I have Monday/Wednesday/Friday appointments that I am responsible for showing up to.  A contractually obligated hour of my day where someone is expecting me to be there.  That means no excuses and no skipping workouts.

I’ll be meeting him for the first time today.  I’m pretty nervous since I know what a hot mess I am right now as far as being in shape.  I tried to take a Zumba class on Saturday for fun and I’m ashamed to say I only lasted about 20 minutes before I was gasping for air and light-headed.  Smh… it was pretty embarrassing.  I have a long way to go and of course it will not be easy.  This guy is an MMA fighter and just came from training at a boxing gym.  He is going to wipe the floor with me these first few weeks! I’m going to be sore as heck and I’m sure I’m going to want to cry, vomit, and/or faint a few times before he’s through with me.  But I’ll try to keep reminding myself:

Amen to that.  And so begins the documentation of my journey towards fitness…

3 thoughts on “The “Brave New Me” Project – Day 1

  1. I highly commend you for doing this as I think many of us are on this fitness journey. I’ve been on it for several months and I’ve tried to not slack but these days have been some slacking ones. Thanks for the pick me up. You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

