Baked Oatmeal with Individual Toppings: Gluten Free and Diabetic Friendly

Baked Oatmeal with Chocolate Chips - Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Baked Oatmeal with Chocolate Chips – Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Breakfast is the meal of each day where I fail, miserably.  Mostly because I am just NOT a morning person.  I sleep until the last possible minute, wake up, brush my teeth, put on some clothes, and drag myself out the door.  Cooking breakfast in the morning would mean I’d have to wake up even earlier… so… no thank you.  I keep a quart of milk in the fridge at work and two boxes of cereal in a cabinet above my desk.  Breakfast each day consists of alternating between the two boxes of cereal.  Needless to say, this is quite the boring routine.

I’m always interested in grab-and-go breakfast options to break up the cereal monotony.  Enter: baked oatmeal cups.  Perfect for grabbing on the way out the door each morning and all of the different topping combinations make for endless possibilities.  The original recipe for these are on the website “Sugar-Free Mom”.  I really liked her idea to use blueberries and walnuts, chocolate chips, and raisins so I stuck with that when I made them.  I made an entire pan of just blueberry and walnut oatmeal muffins, thinking I would like those the best.  In the other pan, I topped half of the oatmeal with chocolate chips and the other half with raisins.  So far, I’m partial to the chocolate chip oatmeal.  Mostly because this recipe is on the healthier side and is low in sugar so the chocolate chips help make up for the lack of sweetness in the baked oatmeal.  The recipe calls for Stevia or honey if you don’t have Stevia.  I used honey because I didn’t have any Steevia but I have tons of honey.  (The real kind, not the questionable stuff that they sell in the grocery stores.  The beau is really into local honey so we have a small collection of the stuff.)  Anyhow, the recipe and directions are copyrighted so I’m not at liberty to post them.  But check out the recipe on the Sugar-Free Mom website!

Baked Oatmeal with Raisins - Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Baked Oatmeal with Raisins – Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries and Walnuts - Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries and Walnuts – Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

3 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal with Individual Toppings: Gluten Free and Diabetic Friendly

Leave a Reply

