Wing Wednesday: Baked Brown Sugar Chicken Wings with Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce

Whelp… I only managed two “Wing Wednesday” posts before falling off the blog-wagon.  It all started when we made some classic buffalo wings that I was too busy inhaling to stop and take a picture of.

“Err… Oh well – I’ll post a great recipe next week,” I promised myself.

Well, the next week we started packing to move into our new apartment. We’ve been packing, moving, and unpacking over the course of the last month.  I’m happy to say that we have finally fully settled into our new place.  I’m also happy to say that our new place is a huge upgrade from the old apartment: most importantly with a bigger and more beautiful kitchen! 🙂 I did my first big grocery trip for the new apartment this weekend and made sure that I picked out a great recipe for “Wing Wednesday”: Baked Brown Sugar Chicken Wings with Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce.

The credit for this recipe goes to one of my new favorite food blogs: Damn Delicious (although it was originally posted on Domestic Fits). I’m pretty sure I Pinned just about every single recipe from the Damn Delicious website.  The layout is adorable, the pictures are gorgeous, and the recipes look AMAZING!

Baked Brown Sugar Chicken Wings with Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce - Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Baked Brown Sugar Chicken Wings with Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce – Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Baked Brown Sugar Chicken Wings with Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 pounds chicken wings
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
FOR THE ROASTED RED PEPPER CREAM SAUCE:
  • 1/3 cup roasted red pepper, chopped
  • 2 ounces goat cheese
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil.
  • In a large bowl, combine wings, olive oil, brown sugar, garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, and onion powder. Add  salt and pepper, to taste.
  • Place wings onto the prepared baking sheet and bake for 25 minutes, flipping over about half-way through cooking.
  • While the wings are cooking, prepare the dipping sauce.  To make the sauce, combine roasted the red pepper, goat cheese, sour cream and salt in the bowl of a food processor until smoothy and creamy; set aside.
  • Serve wings with dipping sauce. Enjoy!

NOTES

I thought this was really good; however, the next time I make it I’ll probably add a teaspoon of lemon juice (and maybe even a little lemon zest) to the dipping sauce.  I think it could benefit from a bit of acid.

Leave a Reply

