Wing Wednesday: Spicy Middle Eastern Chicken Wings

Spicy Middle Eastern Chicken Wings, Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

Spicy Middle Eastern Chicken Wings, Photo Credit: Accounting for Taste

“I’ll try anything once, twice if I like it, three times to make sure.” – Mae West

That pretty much sums up the spirit of Wing Wednesdays.  I’ll try anything once.  Peanut butter and jelly chicken wings? Sure. Let’s go there.

This week’s wing adventure: Spicy Middle Eastern Chicken Wings. I  found the recipe online and they looked absolutely dreamy. I wasn’t too familiar with the spice combination used in the marinade but that only seemed all the more reason to try them!

Originally these were supposed to be last week’s “W.W.” feature but when I read over the recipe to start preparing them I realized that you are supposed to marinate the wings between 6 to 24 hours before cooking them.  YIKES… my bad. I wasn’t about to stay up until 2 in the morning just to try some new wings so a little Frank’s Red Hot to the rescue and I tabled the recipe for tonight’s W.W.  

I made sure to prep and marinate the wings last night so they were ready to just pop in the oven when I got home from work today.  They looked glorious. They smelled glorious. They tasted… err… earthy? I wasn’t a fan of the spice combination or the creamy tahini dipping sauce. It could just be that I’m not really into Middle Eastern cuisine.  I guarantee there are people out there who will think these wings are amazing, and it’s for these fine folks that I made sure to pass this wonderful recipe along.  I hope you make them and I hope you absolutely LOVE them!

Spicy Middle Eastern Chicken Wings

Original recipe credit: The Shiksa In The Kitchen

INGREDIENTS

  • chicken wings
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper (1/2 tsp for mild, 3/4 tsp for medium, 1 tsp for spicy, 1 1/4 tsp for fiery)
  • 3/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1 tsp salt (or more to taste)
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups tahini sauce – recipe can be found here

INSTRUCTIONS

1. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/4 cup olive oil, the spices, salt and pepper (if you’re salt sensitive, use 3/4 tsp of salt).

2. Place the prepared wings in a marinating dish or large plastic zipper bag. Pour the spice marinade over the wings and stir or massage the bag till all the chicken pieces are evenly coated in the marinade. Cover the chicken with plastic or seal the bag and let the chicken marinate in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours, up to 24 hours.

3. Take the wings out of the fridge about 20 minutes before you plan to cook them so the marinade can soften up a bit. Preheat oven to 400°F. When baking chicken wings, I prefer to place a wire rack in my sheet pan and bake the wings on the wire rack.  It helps to make them crispy on all sides without having to flip them over during cooking.  However, you can also just spray your sheet pan with non-stick cooking spray and turn the wings halfway through cooking to achieve crispy wings.

4. Let the wings roast for about 45 minutes. While the wings are cooking, you can prepare the tahini dipping sauce.

Prep Time: 6 – 24 Hours
Cook Time: 45 Minutes
Leave a Reply

